West Virginia Marriage Laws (2022)

Requirements for the Minister

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18

Residency:
Not Required

Document(s) Required:
Ordination Credential

Online Ordination Recognized:
Yes

Relevant Office of Registration:
Secretary of State

Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
Before Ceremony

Minister I.D. # Issued:
No

Ministers officiating weddings in West Virginia must be at least 18 years of age and present relevant ordination credentials with the Secretary of State, who will verify they are both authorized to do so and in regular communion with their church. The minister will then be entered into a registry, and informed if that good standing should change. Ministers who've been ordained online may have to show their ordination credential, and so we recommend they order the Classic Wedding Package to have all relevant documents.

A minister’s home state, chosen gender or belief system will never affect their standing. The ULC recommends ministers carry a copy of their ordination credentials when visiting county clerks in case they ask for proof of ordination when registering.

Hide Relevant Legal Excerpt

§48-2-402. Qualifications of religious representative for celebrating marriages; registry of persons authorized to perform marriage ceremonies; special revenue fund. (a) Beginning September 1, 2001, the Secretary of State shall, upon payment of the registration fee established by the Secretary of State pursuant to subsection (d) of this section, make an order authorizing a person who is a religious representative to celebrate the rites of marriage in all the counties of the state, upon proof that the person: (1) Is eighteen years of age or older; (2) Is duly authorized to perform marriages by his or her church, synagogue, spiritual assembly or religious organization; and (3) Is in regular communion with the church, synagogue, spiritual assembly or religious organization of which he or she is a member. (b) The Secretary of State shall establish a central registry of persons authorized to celebrate marriages in this state. Every person authorized under the provisions of subsection (a) of this section to celebrate marriages shall be listed in this registry. Every county clerk shall, prior to October 1, 2001, transmit to the Secretary of State the name of every person authorized to celebrate marriages by order issued in his or her county since 1960 and the Secretary of State shall include these names in the registry. The completed registry and periodic updates shall be transmitted to every county clerk. (c)(1) Upon written request from the registrant, the Secretary of State shall designate the registrant as inactive on the registry. (2) Upon written notice from the governing body of the registrant's authorizing body that the registrant has died or that the registrant's authority to perform marriages has been revoked, the Secretary of State shall attempt to notify the registrant of the change in the registrant's status by United States mail addressed to the registrant's last known address. If the registrant fails to provide the Secretary of State with proof of good standing with his or her authorizing body within thirty days, the registrant shall be designated on the registry as inactive. (d) A fee not to exceed $25 may be charged by the Secretary of State for each registration or reactivation of an individual designated as inactive on the registry received on or after September 1, 2001, and all money received shall be deposited in a special revenue revolving fund designated the Marriage Celebrants Registration Fee Administration Fund in the state Treasury to be administered by the Secretary of State. Expenses incurred by the secretary in the implementation and operation of the registry program shall be paid from the fund. (e) No marriage performed by a person authorized by law to celebrate marriages may be invalidated solely because the person was not listed in the registry provided for in this section. (f) The Secretary of State shall promulgate rules to implement the provisions of this section. §48-2-403. Ritual for ceremony of marriage by a religious representative. A religious representative authorized to celebrate the rites of marriage shall perform the ceremony of marriage according to the rites and ceremonies of his or her religious denomination, church, synagogue, spiritual assembly or religious organization and the laws of the State of West Virginia.

Show Relevant Legal Excerpt

Wedding Ceremony Requirements

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
No

Minister Required to be Present:
Yes

Number of Witnesses Required:
None

Min. Age of Witnesses:
N/A

Couple's Consent Required:
Yes

Pronouncement Required:
Yes

While the state of West Virginia does not dictate the finer details of wedding planning, it does have a few simple rules for the ceremony.

For starters, both the officiating minister and couple must be physically present for the marriage ceremony, although no witnesses are required. It is up to the couple to provide official consent (a simple “I Do” will suffice) and the minister to pronounce that consent.

(Video) Does West Virginia Recognize Common Law Marriages?

Marriage License Requirements

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple

Where License is Valid:
Any County in West Virginia

Marriage License Pick-Up:
In Person Only

Cost of License:
$56.00

Accepted I.D. Types:
Standard Government Issued

Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
No

Blood Test Required:
No

The state of West Virginia requires that couples both apply for and pick up marriage licenses in person from a state county clerk office of choice. This clerk will verify the relevant information (social security numbers, addresses, birthdays and whether the couple has completed state-sanctioned premarital courses), requiring that either a birth certificate, voter registration certificate or driver's license be presented as proof. Legal aliens must provide a tourist or working visa, and every couple must confirm they are not the other’s property and will not engage in a violent or abusive union.

No proof of prior divorce is required to complete this process, and remember, no state will ever require blood tests of any kind in order to secure a marriage license.

Hide Relevant Legal Excerpt

PART I. APPLICATION FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE

§48-2-104. Contents of the application for a marriage license.

(a) The application for a marriage license must contain a statement of the full names of both the female and the male parties, their social security account numbers, dates of birth, places of birth and residence addresses. The application must state whether or not the persons seeking the license have completed premarital education pursuant to section seven hundred one, article two, chapter forty-eight of this code. If the application states that the applicants seeking issuance of the license have completed premarital education, then the applicants must submit a signed and dated certificate of completion issued by the premarital education provider.

(b) If either of the parties is a legal alien in the United States of America and has no social security account number, a tourist or visitor visa number or number equivalent to a United States social security account number must be provided.

(c) Every application for a marriage license must contain the following statement: "Marriage is designed to be a loving and lifelong union between a woman and a man.

The laws of this state affirm your right to enter into this marriage and to live within the marriage free from violence and abuse. Neither of you is the property of the other. Physical abuse, sexual abuse, battery and assault of a spouse or other family member, and other provisions of the criminal laws of this state are applicable to spouses and other family members, and these violations are punishable by law."

§48-2-105. Execution of the application for a marriage license.

Both female and male parties to a contemplated marriage are required to sign the application for a marriage license, under oath. The application must be signed before the clerk of the county commission or another person authorized to administer oaths under the laws of this state.

(Video) West Virginia Marital Settlement Agreement - EXPLAINED

§48-2-106. Proof of age.

(a) At the time of the execution of the application, the clerk or the person administering the oath to the applicants shall require evidence of the age of each of the applicants. Evidence of age may be as follows:

(1) A certified copy of a birth certificate or a duplicate certificate produced by any means that accurately reproduces the original;

(2) A voter's registration certificate;

(3) An operator's or chauffeur's license;

(4) The affidavit of both parents or the legal guardian of the applicant; or

(5) Other good and sufficient evidence.

(b) If an affidavit is relied upon as evidence of the age of an applicant, and if one parent is dead, the affidavit of the surviving parent or of the guardian of the applicant is sufficient. If both parents are dead, the affidavit of the guardian of the applicant is sufficient. If the parents of the applicant live separate and apart, the affidavit of the parent having custody of the applicant is sufficient.

§48-2-107. Recording an application for a marriage license.

The clerk of the county commission shall record the application for a marriage license in the register of marriages provided for in section 2-203. The clerk shall note the date of the filing of the application in the register. The clerk's notation, or a certified copy thereof, is legal evidence of the facts contained in the license.

Marriage License Facts

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Religious

Mandatory Waiting Period:
None

License Valid For:
60 Days

License Must Be Submitted:
Within 6 Days of Ceremony

While marriage licenses obtained in West Virginia can be solemnized in both religious and civil ceremonies, it's important to keep in mind that all ULC ministers are ordained, which means they are in effect "religious" actors capable of performing legal weddings.

West Virginia requires no grace period between the time the marriage license is granted and the ceremony is performed, unless either party in the couple is under 18 years of age, in which case they’ll have to wait 2 days. Couples have 60 days to get hitched once the license is in their hands, and six days to hand it back after the fact.

Hide Relevant Legal Excerpt

(a) The person solemnizing a marriage shall retain the marriage license and place an endorsement on it establishing the fact of the marriage and the time and place it was celebrated.

(Video) How To Get Ordained In West Virginia To Officiate Weddings - THEAMM.ORG

(b) Before the sixth day of the month after the month in which the marriage was celebrated, the person who solemnized the marriage shall forward the original of the marriage license to the clerk who issued the license.

(c) In the event that the marriage authorized by the license is not solemnized within sixty days from the date of its issuance, then the license is null and void. If the county clerk has not received the original license within sixty days after the expiration date on the license, the clerk shall notify each of the applicants of that fact, by certified mail, return receipt requested.

§48-2-103. Waiting period before issuance of marriage license; issuance of license in case of emergency or extraordinary circumstances.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection(b) of this section, if either or both of the applicants for a marriage license is under eighteen years of age, the clerk of the county commission may not issue a marriage license until two full days elapse after the day the license application is filed.

(b) In case of an emergency or extraordinary circumstances, as shown by affidavit or other proof, a circuit judge of the county in which an application for a marriage license will be filed may order the clerk of the county commission to issue a license at any time before the expiration of the waiting period prescribed in subsection (a) of this section. The clerk of the county commission shall attach a certified copy of the judge's order to the application and issue the marriage license in accordance with the order. If the judge or judges of the county in which the application will be filed are absent or incapacitated, the order may be made and directed to the clerk of the county commission of the county by a circuit judge in any adjoining judicial circuit, or a special judge appointed by the Supreme Court of Appeals.

Show Relevant Legal Excerpt

Requirements for the Couple

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 16 with Guardian Consent

Residency:
Not Required

Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins

Marriage Equality:
Yes

Couples looking to get married in West Virginia must be at least 18 years old. Minors 16 years and older may also wed with a signed affidavit from either a parent or recognized legal guardian, while those under 15 years of age will require judicial approval to do so. In an odd twist, even unsanctioned underaged marriages can eventually be deemed valid in the state once the couple comes of consenting age.

West Virginia does not require either member of the couple reside in the state or country and currently recognizes marriage equality.

Couples are generally discouraged from marrying if they're anything closer than second cousins, unless those relations occur through adoption. The state is prepared to have a judge examine past adoption records confidentially to make such determinations.

PART 3. CAPACITY TO MARRY.

§48-2-301. Age of consent for marriage; exception.

(a) The age of consent for marriage for both the male and the female is eighteen years of age. A person under the age of eighteen lacks the capacity to contract a marriage without the consent required by this section.

(b) The clerk of the county commission may issue a marriage license to an applicant who is under the age of eighteen but sixteen years of age or older if the clerk obtains a valid written consent from the applicant's parents or legal guardian.

(c) Upon order of a circuit judge, the clerk of the county commission may issue a marriage license to an applicant who is under the age of sixteen, if the clerk obtains a valid written consent from the applicant's parents or legal guardian. A circuit judge of the county in which the application for a marriage license is filed may order the clerk of the county commission to issue a license to an applicant under the age of sixteen if, in the court's discretion, the issuance of a license is in the best interest of the applicant and if consent is given by the parents or guardian.

(Video) Property Division Divorce West Virginia

(d) A consent to marry must be duly acknowledged before an officer authorized to acknowledge a deed. If the parents are living together at the time the application for a marriage license is made and the consent is given, the signatures of both parents or the applicant's legal guardian is required. If one parent is dead, the signature of the surviving parent or the applicant's legal guardian is required. If both parents are dead, the signature of the applicant's legal guardian is required. If the parents of the applicant are living separate and apart, the signature of the parent having custody of the applicant or the applicant's legal guardian is required.

(e) If a person under the age of consent is married in violation of this section, the marriage is not void for this reason, and such marriage is valid until it is actually annulled.

(f) A marriage by an underage person without a valid consent as required by this section, though voidable at the time it is entered into, may be ratified and become completely valid and binding when the underage party reaches the age of consent. Validation of a marriage by ratification is established by some unequivocal and voluntary act, statement, or course of conduct after reaching the age of consent. Ratification includes, but is not limited to, continued cohabitation as husband and wife after the age of consent is attained.

§48-2-302. Prohibition against marriage of persons related within certain degrees.

(a) A man is prohibited from marrying his mother, grandmother, sister, daughter, granddaughter, half sister, aunt, brother's daughter, sister's daughter, first cousin or double cousin. A woman is prohibited from marrying her father, grandfather, brother, son, grandson, half brother, uncle, brother's son, sister's son, first cousin or double cousin.

(b) The prohibitions described in subsection (a) of this section are applicable to consanguineous relationships where persons are blood related by virtue of having a common ancestor.

(c) The prohibitions described in subsection (a) of this section are applicable to persons related by affinity, where the relationship is founded on a marriage, and the prohibition continues in force even though the marriage is terminated by death or divorce, unless the divorce was ordered for a cause which made the marriage, originally, unlawful or void.

§48-2-303. Prohibition against marriage not to include persons related by adoption.

For the purpose of section 2-302, cousin or double cousin does not include persons whose relationship is created solely by adoption. If it necessary to open and examine the record of any adoption proceeding in the state to ascertain that a relationship of cousin or double cousin is created solely by adoption, then an application may be made to the circuit court that held the adoption proceeding, by the clerk of the county commission seeking to issue the marriage license, or either party applying for the license, to open the record and cause it to be examined. Upon such application, the judge shall examine the record confidentially and report to the clerk whether the record discloses any consanguinity prohibited by this section and may grant such other relief prayed for which may be proper under article 22 of this chapter.

Show Relevant Legal Excerpt

Final Steps

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Minister

Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries

Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

The minister's job extends way beyond the ceremony.

The state of West Virginia asks that the officiating minister keep a permanent record of each marriage performed, filing relevant marriage certificates with the religious organization under which they serve. This will also mean ensuring their own home address is provided on the marriage certificate, even as the relevant church or ordaining body is filled in as "Universal Life Church Ministries."

Once the license is endorsed, the minister will have six days to submit the original copy back to the same county clerk that issued it.

Hide Relevant Legal Excerpt

§48-2-405. Record of marriage to be kept by person officiating.

A record of each marriage performed, with the names of the parties, their respective places of residence prior to marriage, and the date of marriage, shall be kept by the officiating religious representative in the permanent record of the church, synagogue, spiritual assembly or religious organization which he or she serves.

(Video) Grounds for Divorce in WV

Show Relevant Legal Excerpt

FAQs

When did West Virginia stop requiring blood tests for marriage? ›

The General Assembly decided to waive the blood test requirement because the test was deemed ineffective -- in 1982, 124,000 blood tests were administered and only 14 cases of syphilis were detected. "Even if you found out they had syphilis, you couldn't keep them from getting married.

Can you marry your sister in West Virginia? ›

Can you marry a sibling in West Virginia? West Virginia does not allow siblings to marry. Half-siblings are also not allowed to marry in the state.

What are requirements for marriage in WV? ›

In order to apply for a marriage license, couples must:
  • appear together at the Jefferson County Courthouse.
  • fill out and sign a marriage license application.
  • present valid identifications with proof of age.
  • pay a $57 fee by cash or personal check. ...
  • provide social security numbers.

Is WV A 50/50 divorce state? ›

West Virginia is NOT a community property state, which means that marital property is not automatically divided 50/50 between the spouses in a divorce case.

Is cohabitation illegal in WV? ›

West Virginia is one of only six states where it is still illegal for unmarried couples to live together. The little known law might soon be facing a court challenge, as it has recently in at least one other state.

Can you marry your cousin in West Virginia? ›

A woman is prohibited from marrying her father, grandfather, brother, son, grandson, half brother, uncle, brother's son, sister's son, first cousin or double cousin.

Can u get married to yourself? ›

Self Solemnization, also known as a self-uniting marriage is one in which the couple are married without the presence of a third-party officiant. The couple can essentially perform the legal solemnization of their own marriage, which will be recognized as a legal marriage throughout all of The United States.

Can you marry your 1st cousin? ›

Laws governing the marriage of first cousins vary widely. In 24 states (pink), such marriages are illegal. In 19 states (green), first cousins are permitted to wed. Seven states (peach) allow first-cousin marriage but with conditions.

Can you marry your 3rd cousin? ›

In short, yes, it is legal for second and third cousins to marry in the US. Beyong that, state laws get a little more complicated. According to the National Conference of State Legislatures: "Twenty-five states prohibit marriages between first cousins.

Can you get married same day in West Virginia? ›

Is there a waiting period to get married in West Virginia? There is no waiting period to get married in the state of West Virginia (unless you are under 18 years of age, in which case a three-day waiting period is required).

How long does it take to get married in West Virginia? ›

Waiting Period: There is no waiting period, unless you are under 18, in which case there is a 3 day waiting period. License Validity: 60 Days. Blood Test: Not Required. Residency: If you or your fiancee are a resident of the state, you should apply in the county where one of you has residence.

How much does it cost to elope in WV? ›

West Virginia Marriage License Requirements:
Minimum AgeLicense CostApplication Waiting period
18 yrs$56 or $36 with premarital coursenone

Can I date while separated in WV? ›

No. As long as the spouses consider the marriage over, do not intend to reconcile, and do not have a sexual relationship, they may seek a divorce even if they are living under the same roof. Divorce paperwork is filed in the Circuit Clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Who gets the house in a divorce in West Virginia? ›

§48-7-101.

Except as otherwise provided in this section, upon every judgment of annulment, divorce or separation, the court shall divide the marital property of the parties equally between the parties.

Is alimony mandatory in West Virginia? ›

Married couples in West Virginia may request that the court award alimony in any divorce or legal separation, according to West Virginia Code section 48-8-101. The court may require either party to pay spousal support.

What is considered adultery in WV? ›

West Virginia defines adultery as "the voluntary sexual intercourse of a married man or woman with a person other than the offender's wife or husband." If you or your spouse have committed adultery, you can tell the judge about it and obtain a divorce that specifies that adultery occurred.

What is a domestic partner in West Virginia? ›

A marriage between persons of the same sex, a civil union, or a substantially similar legal relationship other than common law marriage, legally entered into in another jurisdiction, shall be recognized in West Virginia as a civil union.

How long do you have to be separated before divorce in WV? ›

West Virginia allows couples to pursue divorce or separation based on living separate and apart, without cohabitation, for at least one year.

What states can you marry your sister? ›

Summary
StateFirst cousin marriage allowedSexual relations or cohabitation allowed
AlaskaNoYes
ArizonaOnly if both parties are 65 or older, or one is infertileNo
ArkansasNoYes
CaliforniaYesYes
47 more rows

Can you marry your sister in Alabama? ›

Alabama Marriage Requirements

You cannot marry children, siblings, parents, uncles, aunts, grandchildren, grandparents or great grandparents of any relation. You can marry first cousins without restriction, however.

Can you marry your sister? ›

Siblings cannot marry in the United States

Many states outlaw sexual relationships between siblings and between parents and their children, and no state allows siblings to marry.

Can I marry my dog? ›

Is it legal to marry an animal? Human-animal marriage is not specifically mentioned in national laws – meaning technically that there's nothing to stop you entering a state of holy matrimony with your dog, cat, hamster.

Can you marry a tree? ›

Tree marriage is a form of symbolic marriage between a human and a tree that is said to be infused with supernatural life. It can be a form of proxy marriage in which a bachelor marries a tree and becomes treated as a widower when the tree is felled, a status required in some cultures to allow him to marry a widow.

Can you marry an animal? ›

Human–animal marriage is often seen in accordance with zoophilia, although they are not necessarily linked. Although animal-human marriage is not mentioned specifically in national laws, the act of engaging in sexual acts with an animal is illegal in many countries under animal abuse laws.

What is the closest relative you can marry? ›

In the United States, second cousins are legally allowed to marry in every state. However, marriage between first cousins is legal in only about half of the American states. All in all, marrying your cousin or half-sibling will largely depend on the laws where you live and personal and/or cultural beliefs.

What happens if cousins have a baby? ›

The vast majority of children of first cousins are healthy and do not have problems due to their parents' relatedness. It is important to keep in mind that even for an unrelated couple, there is an approximately 2-3% chance that their child is born with a birth defect, genetic syndrome, or disability.

Can you marry your uncle? ›

Consanguinity – blood relationships

You may not marry your: Grandmother or grandfather. Mother or father. Father's sister (aunt) or brother (uncle)

What is my cousins child to me? ›

What Relationship is Your Cousin's Child? Children of your cousin are actually called your “first cousins once removed.” So if you're wondering what relationship your cousin's child is to you, that's it — your first cousin once-removed! Your cousin's child is NOT your second cousin as is commonly believed.

How much DNA do cousins share? ›

First cousins share ~12.5% DNA

To figure out how much DNA any two relatives have, we need to figure out how much DNA in common they inherited from each shared ancestor. Let's look at first cousins. How much DNA would they share? First cousins have two shared ancestors: one Grandmother and one Grandfather.

Is 5th cousins blood-related? ›

Are Fifth Cousins Blood-Related? Fifth cousins are related, but there is a chance they do not share DNA. In fact, there is only a 10-15% chance of sharing genetics with any fifth cousin. Even if you and our fifth cousin are related by blood, the DNA shared will be small, especially when compared to closer cousins.

Do you need a blood test to get married in West Virginia? ›

Blood Test Requirement

West Virginia doesn't require a blood test before a marriage license can be issued.

Can you get a marriage license online in WV? ›

Both you and your fiance will need to go to the correct County Clerk's office in West Virginia together to fill out and file your marriage license application.

Who can officiate a wedding in WV? ›

Persons authorized to perform marriages. A religious representative who has complied with the provisions of section 2-402, a family court judge, a circuit judge or a justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals, is authorized to celebrate the rites of marriage in any county of this state.

How much does a marriage license cost in WV? ›

The cost of a marriage license in West Virginia is $56 and payment is required at the time of application. For couples who have a premarital counseling certificate of completion, the fee is reduced to $36.

What do you do with marriage license after wedding? ›

After your wedding, you need to make sure that your Certificate of Marriage is duly submitted to the Local Civil Registrar's office (LCR) for proper registration and endorsement to the PSA. After that, you wait until a PSA-certified copy of your marriage certificate is made available for you and your spouse.

What is a quick wedding called? ›

Today the term "elopement" is colloquially used for any marriage performed in haste, with a limited public engagement period or without a public engagement period. Some couples elope because they wish to avoid parental or religious objections.

How old do you have to be to get married in WV? ›

(a) The age of consent for marriage for both the male and the female is eighteen years of age. A person under the age of eighteen lacks the capacity to contract a marriage without the consent required by this section.

How do I change my name after marriage in WV? ›

To make your WV DMV name change after marriage, you'll need to provide proof of your name change (the marriage certificate or court order). If you don't have your name change document, the DMV will accept a passport and a Social Security card, if they both have the new name on them.

Can having a girlfriend affect my divorce? ›

Generally speaking, the actual act of dating while your divorce is pending will not affect the outcome of a divorce. While you are still legally married to another person, the court distinguishes between pre- and post-separation relationships.

What should you not do when separating? ›

5 Mistakes To Avoid During Your Separation
  1. Keep it private.
  2. Don't leave the house.
  3. Don't pay more than your share.
  4. Don't jump into a rebound relationship.
  5. Don't put off the inevitable.
Oct 19, 2016

Does a husband have to support his wife during separation? ›

a person has a responsibility to financially assist their spouse or former de-facto partner, if that person cannot meet their own reasonable expenses from their personal income or assets. Where the need exists, both parties have an equal duty to support and maintain each other as far as they can.

How is alimony calculated in WV? ›

In deciding whether to award alimony, the court does not consider the genders of the spouses, but does weigh 20 statutory factors, which include: The length of the marriage. The age and health of the parties. Each party's education level and ability to earn income.

How is debt divided in West Virginia divorce? ›

Generally, marital property consists of all debts and assets acquired during the marriage, and separate property includes: Property acquired prior to the marriage or after a legal separation. Property acquired with separate property. Gifts and inheritances are given during the marriage.

What is the child support percentage in WV? ›

The court orders a flat percentage of 25% of the non-custodial parent's income to be paid in child support to the custodial parent.

Is WV A 50/50 divorce state? ›

West Virginia is NOT a community property state, which means that marital property is not automatically divided 50/50 between the spouses in a divorce case.

How long is alimony paid in WV? ›

Alimony length is usually based on length of marriage - one commonly used standard for alimony duration is that 1 year of alimony is paid every three years of marriage (however, this is not always the case in every state or with every judge).

Is cohabitation illegal in West Virginia? ›

West Virginia is one of only six states where it is still illegal for unmarried couples to live together. The little known law might soon be facing a court challenge, as it has recently in at least one other state.

Do you have to have a blood test to get married in WV? ›

Blood Test Requirement

West Virginia doesn't require a blood test before a marriage license can be issued.

When did blood test for marriage end? ›

The mandatory test for syphilis ended in 1980 because it was yielding few positive results and was not cost effective. Many other states ended the test, as well. In 1980, for example, 34 states required a blood test for syphilis before a couple could get married.

Which states require a blood test before marriage? ›

Marriage License Requirements: Blood Tests

Only one state, Montana, still requires a blood test for a marriage license; other states have eliminated the requirement that couples be tested for certain diseases before they marry.

Why did people have to have a blood test before they got married? ›

Actually, the blood test was about public health, usually to monitor for rubella (German measles) and syphilis. Several states also screened for gonorrhea and tuberculosis, and previously ordered HIV tests, for those getting married.

Videos

1. DO NOT get a marriage license, HERES WHY
(KGB94 TV)
2. How Loving v. Virginia Led to Legalized Interracial Marriage | History
(HISTORY)
3. Does Virginia Have Common Law Marriage? Virginia Common Law Divorce
(Holcomb Law, P.C.)
4. How to Make a Will in West Virginia, EASY INSTRUCTIONS
(eForms)
5. Auditor Finds West Virginia's Most Ignorant Police
(Rebel HQ)
6. Lambda Legal Attorney Beth Littrell Announces Federal Lawsuit in WV
(FairnessWV Institute)

Top Articles

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Fredrick Kertzmann

Last Updated: 11/05/2022

Views: 6758

Rating: 4.6 / 5 (46 voted)

Reviews: 85% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Fredrick Kertzmann

Birthday: 2000-04-29

Address: Apt. 203 613 Huels Gateway, Ralphtown, LA 40204

Phone: +2135150832870

Job: Regional Design Producer

Hobby: Nordic skating, Lacemaking, Mountain biking, Rowing, Gardening, Water sports, role-playing games

Introduction: My name is Fredrick Kertzmann, I am a gleaming, encouraging, inexpensive, thankful, tender, quaint, precious person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.